Journalism Studies
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (5) posts »


Posted By Edson Tandoc Jr., Thursday, January 9, 2020

This award honors a book published in the previous five calendar years (between January 1 and December 31). The selection committee judges each nominated book on several criteria:

1)  the importance of the problem it addresses to the journalism studies division;

2)  the relevance of the topic to the field of communication as a whole;

3)  the quality of writing and argument;

4)  the strength of evidence it presents.

The committee will consider all nominated books, available book reviews, reputation of the publisher, and any other submitted evidence regarding the book's quality from independent sources, along with nominating letters and its own assessment of the nominated books. Authors must be current members of ICA and the Journalism Studies Division. Nominations from any country are encouraged. Most award-winning books address a scholarly audience, but books aimed at a general readership while satisfying the criteria for the prize are also eligible. Single and multiple authored books as well as research-based books resulting from an ongoing scholarly collaboration can be considered. Textbooks, handbooks and edited collections are not eligible, and books may be nominated only once. Because of a lack of resources for outside translators at this time, we regret that only English-language books or books translated to English can be currently considered. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Each nomination should include: 1) a nomination letter. Nominating letters must specify why the book should receive the award, assess the importance of the book to both the Journalism Studies Division and to ICA, and demonstrate the quality of its writing, argument and evidence; 2) copies of all available evidence of the book's quality from independent sources, such as reviews; 3) CV of the author(s). 

The nomination period closes March 1, 2020. Please send a PDF with all the nomination materials to the chair of the award committee, Barbie Zelizer,

In addition, arrangements should be made with the publishers of nominated books for four copies to be shipped to award committee members by the same deadline (for the addresses of the committee members, please contact Barbie Zelizer).

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)