ICA Newsletter
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (460) posts »

Governance Corner: Board meeting decisions and preparation for ICA Election 2020

Posted By Julie Arnold, ICA Senior Manager of Governance , Monday, July 6, 2020

Large Slate of New Policies and Initiatives Approved at 2020 Board of Directors Meeting  

The Annual Board of Directors Meeting was held virtually this year for a week leading up to the annual conference, taking action on numerous important issues. Some of the decisions have been or will be covered in depth in their own dedicated newsletter articles; however, a synopsis of most decisions is below.

On the recommendation of the Nominating Committee, the board approved the candidates for the 2020 Election. The two Presidential candidates—Noshir Contractor (Northwestern U) and Katherine Sender (Cornell U)—will be featured, along with their candidate statements, in the September issue of this newsletter. The candidates for Treasurer, Board Student and Early Career Representative, and Board Member at Large were also ratified, and their statements will be embedded in the ballot. The election will conclude in mid-October 2020.

Major initiatives approved by the Board of Directors at this meeting include: 

  • approval of the new editor of Annals of ICA, Herman Wasserman (U of Cape Town)

  • approval of the new editor of Communication, Culture  & Critique, Melissa Click (Gonzaga U)

  • approval of the new editors of Human Communication Research, Jonathan Cohen (U of Haifa) & Yariv Tsfati (U of Haifa)

  • approval to elevate the Computational Methods Interest Group to a Division

  • establishment of Sage’s Communication and Sport as the official journal of the Sports Communication Interest Group

  • adoption of a policy whereby submitters must choose only one division/interest group to which they submit their dissertation for a division/interest group dissertation award

  • approval of three publications related items: to formalize JCMC as an open access journal, adoption of OUP policy option two and the introduction of OSF badges (to learn more, please see ICA’s Tom Mankowski’s publications,Open Scholarship/Open Science.

  • approval of additional criteria for the Outstanding Book Award (limiting submissions to English/English translation)

  • approval of the transition of both the Professional Standards and the Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Access (IDEA) task forces to standing committees (as their work will extend beyond a temporary status).

In addition, the Board reviewed and approved many standard agenda items, including the 2020-21 committee rosters (due to the pandemic, this year only ex-officio committee roles changed, all other compositions were maintained); publishers' reports and reports from each of ICA’s journals; reports from each of ICA's standing committees and task forces; reports on membership efforts; the 2020 ICA awards and Fellows slate (congratulations award recipients and new Fellows!); the ICA investments report; and the proposed budget for the coming fiscal year (FY21).

This was a productive meeting covering a wide range of issues of importance to all ICA members, attendees, and partners. Many thanks to the 2020 board for participating despite unprecedented challenges and for taking time out of their extremely tight schedules to engage in the online discussions for the good of the association! 

Preparation for ICA Election 2020

Preparations are underway for the ICA Election 2020.  ICA wide candidates are working on submitting candidate statements and Division and Interest Group leadership are currently soliciting nominations for any division/interest group leadership roles slated for the upcoming election. If you are interested in learning more about opportunities for elected roles within your division/interest group, please contact the Chair.  

Division/Interest Group Candidate Eligibility

  • ONLY ACTIVE MEMBERS ARE ELIGIBLE: Per ICA bylaws: "Only Active Members shall enjoy voting privileges, or be eligible for nomination, election …"  Chairs are responsible for ensuring their candidates are active members of both the association and of the individual division/interest group for which they are running.

  • CURRENT OFFICERS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THEIR CURRENT POSITION:  Officers may not succeed themselves in a particular office. 

  • CANDIDATES MAY ONLY RUN FOR, OR HOLD, 1 ELECTED POSITION AT A TIME:  In January 2020, the Executive Committee approved a rule that candidates may not run for, or hold, more than one elected office at a time. (Candidates may not run for, or hold, an elected office across multiple DIV/IGs - for example, a candidate may not run for Secretary of CAM and SEC Representative of Game Studies). Candidates who submit themselves for more than one elected position will be disqualified

The election polls open 1 September and close mid-October. Candidates successfully elected in the Fall of 2020 do not officially take office until the last day of the Denver conference in May 2021, the commitment (unless otherwise noted) is End of Denver (2021) - End of Toronto (2023).

Tags:  June-July 2020 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)