Print Page | Sign In | Register
Annual Conference Updates
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (5) posts »

San Diego Conference Highlights!

Posted By Michelle Fetherston, Monday, June 5, 2017

Hope all of the Org Comm division members who were able to attend the 2017 conference in San Diego had a great time! If you couldn't join us, no worries--here are some of the highlights from our division (and click here to view some photos from the business meeting)!

41 people attended our Doctoral Consortium Preconference, "Cultivating Local and Global Professional Identities", on Thursday, May 25. Thank you to Vice Chair Stacey Connaughton for coordinating such a successful event, and thank you to the following faculty mentors who participated:

 J. Kevin Barge, Texas A&M University
 Heather Canary, University of Utah 

Jeff Treem, The University of Texas at Austin

 William Barley, University of Illinois

Stacey Connaughton, Purdue University

Bart van den Hooff, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

 Brenda Berkelaar, The University of Texas at Austin

Janet Fulk, University of Southern California

Elizabeth Williams, Colorado State University

 Boris Brummans, University of Montreal

Amanda Porter, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Ted Zorn, Massey University

 Patrice Buzzanell, Purdue University

Craig Scott, Rutgers University


Once again, the division conference sessions featured a variety of programming types, including the Research Escalator, Competitive Paper Panels, and B.E.S.T. (Brief, Entertaining Scholarly Talks, in which participants used unique and creative ways to share their research in less than 5 minutes!) The following individuals were gracious enough to help facilitate and evaluate these sessions:

 Research Escalator Mentors

Competitive Papers Panel Respondents Competitive Papers Panel Chairs  B.E.S.T. Respondents/Facilitators

François Cooren

Matt Koschmann

Joelle Cruz

Patty Sias

Michelle Shumate

Lars Christensen

Rahul Mitra

Patrice Buzzanell

Michael Etter

Amanda Porter

Kevin Barge

Jennifer Gibbs

Will Barley

Dennis Mumby

Kate Lockwood Harris

Dennis Mumby
Heather Zoller
Franzisca Weder
Michael Etter
Kumi Ishii
Nan Li
Josh Barbour
Vernon Miller
Kate Lockwood Harris
Martine van Selm






Keri Stephens
Stacey Connaughton
 Tajshen Campbell
Craig Scott
Hassan Abu Bakar
Jody Jahn
Claartje ter Hoeven Shawna Malvini Redden







Amanda Porter
Gail Fairhurst
Matt Koschmann
Paul Leonardi
Noshir Contractor
Connie Yuan
James Olufowote
Craig Scott
Nicolas Bencherki
Ted Zorn
Brenda Berkelaar
Dawna Ballard
Tyler Spradley
Will Barley
Jeff Treem

Of course, none of this would be possible without the help of our paper reviewers. Thank you to all who reviewed submissions this year:

Hassan Abu Bakar

Ana Alacovska

Lindsey Anderson

Yannick Atouba

Joshua Barbour

William Barley

Nicolas Bencherki

Brenda Berkelaar

Ryan Bisel

Jamie Bochantin

Boris Brummans

Jacqueline Bruscella

Patrice Buzzanell

Theresa Castor

Andy Chuang

Katherine Cooper

Francois Cooren

Stephen Croucher

Disraelly Cruz

Anupam Das

Bree Devin

Debalina Dutta

Michael Andreas Etter

Sandra Evans


Moyi Jia

Catrin Johansson

Kim A. Johnston,

Kerk F. Kee

Yang-Soo Kim

Catherine Kingsley Westerman

Lorraine Kisselburgh

Kathleen Krone

Chih-Hui Lai

Dan Lair

Anne Lane

Finn Frandsen

Cindy Gallois

Rebecca Gill

Hailey Grace Gillen Hoke

Davide Girardelli

Griselda Guillen

Kate Harris

Dini Homsey

Chun-ju Flora Hung-Baesecke

Andrew Ishak

Kumi Ishii

Miwa Ito

Eric James

Jaesub Lee

Sunny Lee

Nan Li

Ziyu Long

Yi Luo

Alana Mann

Sky Marsten

Frederick Matte

Kirstie McAllum

John McClellan

James McDonald

Vernon Miller

Colleen Mills

Rahul Mitra

James Olufowote

Greg Ormes

Casey Pierce

Andy Pilny

Amanda Porter

Leslie Ramos Salazar

Shawna Malvini Redden

Johanne Saint-Charles

Philip Salem

Craig Scott

Aaron Shaw

R. Tyler Spradley

Jeffrey Stafford

Maureen Taylor

Jeff Treem

Paaige Turner

Martine van Selm

Consuelo Vasquez

Joost Verhoeven

Michelle Violanti

Matthew Weber

Franzisca Weder

Celeste Wells

Elizabeth Williams

Laura Young

Norhafezah Yusof

Alaina Zanin

Jordan Ziemer

Guido Zurstiege






Waveland Press kindly donated $500 for our Top Interactive Display and Best of the B.E.S.T. award winners. Congratulations to:

  • Top Interactive Display: Vanessa Salazar & Stephanie Dailey: Welcome Aboard: Comparing The Impact of Unstructured vs. Structured Socialization on Newcomer Perceived Organizational Support, Engagement, and Identification.
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Kate Lockwood Harris (Materiality and CCO)
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Kumi Ishii (Leadership, Managers and Employees)
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Will Barley, Ly Dinh, Hallie McClung Workman & Chengyu Fang, (Networks and Social Media)
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Heather Zoller (Activism, Volunteerism and Non-Governmental Organizations)

Our 2017 Top Papers:

  • Taking the Moral High Ground: Avoiding Accounts as a Practice for Being Uncompromisingly Principled - Jessica Sarah Robles, Loughborough University; Theresa R. Castor, University of
    Wisconsin - Parkside
  •  Team Safety Communication: Confronting Production Pressure in a High Reliability Organization – A Mixed Methods Study Jody Jahn, University of Colorado Boulder
  •  Collective Innovation Adoption across Interorganizational Systems: Organizational Boundary, Social Networks, and Decision-Making Status - *J. Sophia Fu, Northwestern University; Michelle Shumate, Northwestern University; Noshir S. Contractor, Northwestern University
  •  Configuring Shared and Hierarchical Leadership through Authoring - Flemming Holm, Independent Researcher; *Gail Fairhurst, U of Cincinnati (Top Overall Paper)
  • Frontline Employees and the Medical Clinic Front and Backstage - Millie Harrison, William Roth Smith, Mackenzie Greenwell - University of Texas, Austin (Top Student Paper)

Congratulations as well to the following individual award winners:

  • Redding Dissertation Award, Honorable Mention: Maggie Boyraz (Advisor, Jennifer Gibbs)
  • Redding Dissertation Award: Peter Jensen (Advisor, Rebecca Meisenbach
  • Jablin Award: Kathy Krone, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Putnam Early Career Scholar Award: Jeff Treem, University of Texas, Austin

 That last award was also officially renamed the Linda L. Putnam Early Career Scholar Award at this year's conference in honor of a generous $25,000 endowment donated by Linda Putnam, to be used to support division members in the early stages of their careers. Thank you to Linda for your generosity and support of early career scholars!

Finally, we welcomed new officers: Division Secretary, Rebecca Gill of Massey University and Student Representative Millie Harris of University of Texas, Austin. Thank you again to our outgoing officers, Secretary Jennifer Gibbs and Student Representative Scott Banghart for all your contributions!

As you can see, it was quite a busy conference, and we hope to see you next year in Prague!

This post has not been tagged.

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)

International Communication Association
1500 21st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036 USA

Phone: (202) 955-1444

Connect With Us