Annual Conference Updates
Group HomeGroup Home Blog Home Group Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (5) posts »

2018 Conference in Review

Posted By Michelle Fetherston, Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Updated: Monday, July 2, 2018

The Organizational Communication division celebrated its 50th anniversary this year at the annual conference in Prague, CZ last month. Thank you to all who attended and took part in the celebration! If you couldn't attend, however, here is a review of some of the highlights. (Be sure to also check out the photo gallery from the conference!)

One of the highlights of the conference was the celebration of the Org Comm Division’s 50th Anniversary. In this special session, we shared drinks, foods, and stories on the past, present and future of our Division. And we all enjoyed the great video that Craig and Mikyla Scott made, which is available here. Once again, a big Thank You to Craig and Mikyla for all the work they put into this, and for this brilliant reminder of this very special occasion!


Once again, the division conference sessions featured a variety of programming types, including the Research Escalator, Competitive Paper Panels, and B.E.S.T. (Brief, Entertaining Scholarly Talks, in which participants used unique and creative ways to share their research in less than 5 minutes!) The following individuals were gracious enough to help facilitate and evaluate these sessions:

 Research Escalator Mentors

Competitive Papers Panel Respondents Competitive Papers Panel Chairs  B.E.S.T. Respondents/Facilitators

François Cooren

Nicolas Bencherki

Michael Etter

Cynthia Stohl

 Jeff Treem

 Jennifer Gibbs

 Marya Doerfel

 Elizabeth Wilhoit

 Patrice Buzzanell

 Rebecca Meisenbach

 Ted Zorn

 Amanda Porter

 Josh Barbour

 Ziyu Long

 Jody Jahn

 John Lammers

 Kate Harris

 Lexa Murphy

 Finn Frandsen

 Lars Thøger Christensen

 Rebecca Gill

 Will Barley

 Nosh Contractor

 Heewon Kim

Frederik Matte
 Francois Cooren
Claartje L. ter Hoeven
Craig R. Scott
Patrice Buzzanell
Ling Chen
Marya Doerfel
Anu Sivunen
Vernon Miller
Rebecca Meisenbach
















Ward van Zoonen
Peter Rodgers Jensen
Alaina c Zanin
 Jennifer Ptacek
 Ziyu Long
 Emilly Martinez
Andrew Pilny
 Bart van den Hooff
Jeff Treem
 Merja Koskela

















Will Barley
Jennifer Gibbs
Vernon Miller
Ted Zorn
Jody Jahn















Of course, none of this would be possible without the help of our paper reviewers. Thank you to all who reviewed submissions this year:

Hassan Abu Bakar

Lindsey Anderson

Joshua Barbour

William Barley

Amanda Beacom

Nicolas Bencherki

Brenda Berkelaar

Ryan Bisel

Brian Britt

Jacqueline Bruscella

Marjorie Buckner

Caleb Carr

Theresa Castor

Francois Cooren

Stephanie Dailey

Rita Daniels

Ganga Sasidharan Dhanesh

Juana Juan Du

Debalina Dutta

Michelle Fetherston

Jessica Ford

Sanne Frandsen

Patricia Gettings

Ralph Gigliotti

Rebecca Gill






Hailey Gillen Hoke

Kate Lockwood Harris

Carissa Hoelscher

Dini Homsey

Jennifer Ihm

Kumi Ishii

Joel Iverson

Eric James

Peter Rodgers Jensen

Kim Johnston

Dongjing Kang

Heewon Kim

Young Ji Kim

Yang Soo Kim II

Erika Kirby

Lorraine Kisselburgh

Merja Koskela

Kathleen Krone

Tim Kuhn

Chih-Hui Lai

Anne Lane

Jaesub Lee

Nan Li









Ziyu Long

Shawna Malvini Redden

Brian Manata

Sky Marsen.

Thomas Martine

Frederik Matte,

John McClellan,

James McDonald

Vernon Miller

Rahul Mitra

Majia Holmer Nadesan

Mahuya Pal

Casey Spruill Pierce

Cameron Wade Piercy

Andrew Pilny,

Amanda Porter

Leslie Ramos Salazar

Christian Rudeloff

Surabhi Sahay

Anu Sivunen

Jeff Treem

Martine van Selm

Conseulo Vasquez,

Joost Verhoeven





Michelle Violanti

Rong Wang,

Franzisca Weder

Elizabeth Wilhoit

Elizabeth Williams

DaJung Woo

Connie Yuan

Norhafezah Yusof

Jordan Ziemer

Craig Scott

Bart van den Hooff

Patrice Buzzanell

Dave Seibold



















Waveland Press kindly donated $500 for our Top Interactive Display and Best of the B.E.S.T. award winners. Thank you to our judges, Sanne Frandsen (Lund University School of Management) and Kate Lockwood Harris (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities), and congratulations to our winners:

  • Top Interactive Display: "Destabilizing Divergence and Convergence: An Intervention to Transcend the Tension Between Diversity and Creativity in Teams " - Sam Wilson, Luisa Ruge-Jones, Will Barley, U Illinois Urbana-Champaign; Marshall Scott Poole, Texas A&M; John Moder, Hispanic Ass’n of Colleges and Universities; Algirdas S. Kuslikis, American Indian Higher Education Consortium; Joseph Whitaker, Morgan State U
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Emotions and Relationships in Organizational Contexts – Winners: Birte Asmuss & Helle Kryger Aggerholm, Aarhus University
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Teams, Change, Health and Organizing – Winners: Kenneth J. Levine, Molly Carmody, Kami J. Silk, Madyalyn Mulroy & Danuelle Calloway, Michigan State University
  • Best of the B.E.S.T.: Knowledge, Innovation, and Media – Winner: Jeff Treem, University of Texas at Austin

Our 2018 Top Papers:

  • Disparate Effects of Technology Use on the Social Connectivity Among Globally-Dispersed Workers - Heewon Kim, Arizona State University & Andrew Nicholas Pilny, University of Kentucky (Top Paper)
  • Lost Among the Plenum: Manifestations of the Natural Material Environment in Organizing Processes - William Roth Smith, The University of Texas at Austin
  •  Explaining Online Ambassador Behaviors on Facebook - Ward van Zoonen, University of Amsterdam, Jos Bartels, Tilburg University, Anne-Marie van Prooijin, Vrije University Amsterdam, & Alexander Peter Schouten, Tilburg University
  • Tweeting to My Business Partners: An Exploratory Study of Nonprofit’s Voice on CSR Partnerships - Chuqing Dong, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities & Yafei Zhang, West Texas A&M University
  • Lost Among the Plenum: Manifestations of the Natural Material Environment in Organizing Processes, William Roth Smith, The University of Texas at Austin (Top Student Paper)

Congratulations as well to the following individual award winners:

  • Redding Dissertation Award: Jasmine R. Linabary, Purdue University (Advisor, Stacey L. Connaughton)
  • Jablin Award: Pamela Shockley-Zalabak, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
                          Philip K. Tompkins
    , University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Putnam Early Career Scholar Award: Rahul Mitra, Wayne State University
Finally, a welcome to our new officers: Chair Stacey Connaughton and Vice Chair Tim Kuhn, and a thank you to our Immediate Past President, Bart van den Hooff!

As you can see, it was quite a busy conference, and we hope to see you next year in Washington, D.C.!

Tags:  2018  Conference  Prague 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)