Divisions: Journalism Studies
Group Pages
Keren Tenenboim-Weinblatt (Chair)

Hebrew U of Jerusalem, Mount Scopus
Department of Communication and Journalism
Jerusalem   91905
Ph. +972 (0)2 588 1059 

Seth C. Lewis (Vice Chair)

University of Oregon
School of Journalism and Communication
Eugene, OR 97403-1275
Ph. +1 541-346-7342 

Edson C. Tandoc Jr. (Secretary)

Nanyang Technological University
Wee Kim Wee School of Communication and Information
31 Nanyang Link Singapore 637718
Ph. +65 6790-6110

Joy Kibarabara (Student Representative)

Stockholm University
Department of Media Studies
SE-106 91 Stockholm, Sweden
Ph. +46 8 16 20 00

The Journalism Studies Division of the International Communication Association is concerned with journalism theory, journalism research, and professional education in journalism. The division invites a wide array of theoretical, epistemological and methodological approaches, all of which are united around an interest in journalism and share the aim of enhancing existing understandings of how journalism works, across temporal and geographic contexts. The division is intended to facilitate empirical research and to bring more coherence to research paradigms, and in so doing, to further support the professionalization of journalism studies and journalism education. With journalism as its focus, the division will create a setting in which scholars employing different kinds of academic approaches can engage in dialogue. It would be a clearinghouse for the wide range of scholarship on journalism.

Not yet a member but interested in becoming one? Please contact ICA headquarters at membership@icahdq.org






You can submit nominations for four divisional awards: Outstanding Dissertation in Journalism Studies Award, Journalism Studies Divisional Book Award, The Wolfgang Donsbach Outstanding Article of the Year Award, and the ICA Journalism Studies Public Engagement Award. You can find the four calls for nomination in our Awards section as well as in our division blog. Deadline for all award nominations is 1 March 2020. The awards will be presented at the 2020 division’s business meeting in Gold Coast.



The Journalism Studies Graduate Student Colloquium will be held on 21 May 2020 in Gold Coast, just before the opening of the main conference. The colloquium, which brings together PhD students with experienced scholars in the field, is part of the Journalism Studies division’s commitment to academic mentorship. Its goal is to contribute actively to the professional development of young scholars by giving them an opportunity to present and discuss their research in a constructive and international atmosphere. It is organized by Graduate Student Representative Joy Kibarabara, with the support of Edson Tandoc and Raul Ferrer Conill. Submission deadline is 20 January 2020. CFP: https://www.icahdq.org/mpage/CFPJournalismStudies



Pre- and post-conferences are wonderful opportunities to present and discuss your work, and they can also enable conference participation for those who originally did not plan to attend the Gold Coast conference but changed their minds... In addition to the Graduate Student Colloquium, two other pre-conferences are affiliated with the division:

DIGITAL MEDIA IN LATIN AMERICA. Organizers: Pablo J. Boczkowski, Eddy Borges-Rey, Miriam Hernandez, Ezequiel Korin, Eugenia Mitchelstein, Magdalena Saldaña, María Celeste Wagner; Submission deadline: 31 January 2020; CFP: https://www.icahdq.org/mpage/CFPDigitalMedia

FROM THE RISE OF ALTERNATIVE MEDIA TO THE (DIS)ENGAGEMENT OF MSM: MAKING SENSE OF THE NEW POLITICAL NEWS ENVIRONMENT AND ITS AUDIENCES. Organizers: Karoline Andrea Ihlebæk, Tine Ustad Figenschou, Stephen Cushion, Scott Wright. Submission Deadline: 20 January 2020. CFP: https://cdn.ymaws.com/www.icahdq.org/resource/resmgr/prekonf_proposal_alternative.pdf




The Fixers: Local News Workers and the Underground Labor of International Reporting

By Lindsay Palmer, Oxford University Press

News "fixers" are locally-based media employees who serve as translators, coordinators, and guides to foreign journalists in unfamiliar terrain. Operating in the shadows, fixers' contributions to journalism are largely hidden from us, yet they underpin the entire international news industry: almost every international news story we read today could not be produced without a fixer. Indeed, without fixers' on-the-ground skill and intimate knowledge of a territory, journalists would struggle to document stories unfolding in countries outside their own. Despite this, however, fixers remain one of the most under-protected and undervalued groups contributing to the production of news. Targeted by militant groups and governments, even by their neighbors, they must often engage in a precarious balancing act, bridging the divides between foreign journalists and the people who live and work in fixers' own communities. In this book, Lindsay Palmer reveals the lives and struggle of those performing some of the most important work in international news. Drawing on interviews with 75 fixers around the world, Palmer is the first researcher to seriously consider fixers' own rich narratives, offering a glimpse of how difficult it is to play the role of cultural mediator, both in and out of conflict zones.


Analyzing Analytics: Disrupting Journalism One Click at a Time

By Edson C. Tandoc Jr., Routledge


Now that web analytics has become deeply embedded in newsrooms, its impact on journalism is even more potent. Documenting the different ways web analytics has disrupted traditional journalism, the book provides a timely review of what we know so far about the place of web analytics in reporting, and maps a future research agenda. It conceptualizes web analytics as an object of journalism where audiences, businesses, technologists, and journalists confront one another, negotiating the contours of digital journalism in the process. Including newly developed theoretical frameworks as well as case studies and empirical projects, the book is ideal for journalism students, researchers, and professional journalists.

Recently Updated Profiles
Makoto Sakai, María Celeste Wagner, Waseem Alsahafi, Mirjam Gollmitzer, Oscar Westlund

Group Feed
Edson Tandoc Jr. posted a new entry in the Journalism Studies blog in the group Divisions: Journalism Studies.
Posted Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Edson Tandoc Jr. posted a new entry in the Journalism Studies blog in the group Divisions: Journalism Studies.
Posted Thursday, January 9, 2020
Edson Tandoc Jr. posted a new entry in the Journalism Studies blog in the group Divisions: Journalism Studies.
Posted Thursday, January 9, 2020
Edson Tandoc Jr. posted a new entry in the Journalism Studies blog in the group Divisions: Journalism Studies.
Posted Thursday, January 9, 2020
Edson Tandoc Jr. posted a new entry in the Journalism Studies blog in the group Divisions: Journalism Studies.
Posted Thursday, January 9, 2020
 More »