Print Page | Sign In | Register
C. Edwin Baker Award
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

C. Edwin Baker Award for the Advancement of Scholarship on Media, Markets and Democracy


The Baker Award recognizes work that has made significant contributions to the development, reach and influence of such scholarship. While the awards committee favors research that consists of multiple projects and publications that have made a clear, coherent and sustained contribution to the advancement of such scholarship over time, single works and/or activities that have been highly influential in the field may also qualify someone for nomination. More specifically, nominees for this award will have accomplished one or more of the following:

  1. Opened up new theoretical and/or methodological territory in research on any aspect of the interrelations between media, markets and democracy;
  2. Made other important contributions to the advancement of scholarship on these inter-relations.
  3. Engaged in activism that advanced scholarship on these inter-relations.

The award is open to ICA members and to anyone else whose research can be shown to have a connection with the work of the ICA and its various divisions. Members of the Awards Committee may nominate, but no ICA member who makes a nomination or who is nominated for an award can serve on the committee judging the nomination.

All nominators must:

  • submit letter(s) of nomination, not to exceed two pages each. These letter must:
    1. specify the relevant body of work and/or other contributions made,
    2. address the work’s and/or activity’s contributions to scholarship of media, markets and democracy (in the case of research, this will involve theoretical and methodological assessments of that work) and,
    3. make a case for its influence and impact on the advancement of such scholarship.
  • Submit representative examples of the work cited, along with a CV, to the chair of the awards committee (as noted on the ICA website).

The Baker Award was established in 2010 through an endowed fund created from the estate of Professor C Edwin Baker (1947-2009), who was the Nicholas F. Gallichio Professor of Law and Communication at the University of Pennsylvania Law School, and is intended to honor the enormous contribution made by Professor Baker to communications scholarship. The Divisions gratefully acknowledge the assistance of Professor Baker’s sister Dr Nancy Baker.

The prize is be to the value of $500 USD per annum. 

In 2017-2018 the selection committee comprises:

Katharine Sarikakis Chair of the Committee, Chair of Communication Law and Policy Division,
Mirca Madianou, Chair of Philosophy, Theory and Critique Division
Nancy Baker
David Hesmondhalgh
Monroe Price
Thomas Streeter


Past selection committees comprised Eileen R Meehan, David Hesmondhalgh, Dan Hallin, Janet Wasko, Nancy Baker.


The Divisions gratefully acknowledge the support of colleagues for this award. 

Past Awardees:

2017 - Thomas Streeter, U of Vermont

2016 - Monroe E. Price,  U of Pennsylvania

2015 - Janet Wasko,  U of Oregon

2014 - Yuezhi Zhao,  Simon Fraser U

2013 - Daniel C. Hallin,  U of California - San Diego


International Communication Association
1500 21st Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036 USA

Phone: (202) 955-1444

Connect With Us