Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |


This annual prize recognizes and rewards doctoral dissertation research that explains, enlightens, inspires, and improves the practice and study of journalism and communication. The winning dissertation should seek and reveal new insights, and reinforce the Journalism Studies Division’s stated aims for “scholarly effort that advances our understanding of how journalism works; and helps clarify, define and question core ideas in our field, such as news, media and journalism.” The award is open to a diversity of methods and topics within journalism studies.

The nominated work must have been completed and defended within the two years prior to the award year (e.g., 2018/2019 for the award in 2020). All application materials must be in English. Each nomination should include: 1) an 8-10 page summary of the dissertation with no author-identifying information, addressing a) the problem addressed by the work; (b) its theoretical framework; (c) the method used; (d) key findings; (e) and a statement explaining its contribution to journalism studies; 2) a copy of the full doctoral dissertation (author-identifying information should be included); and 3) two supporting letters from faculty mentors. One of these letters must be a nomination from the graduate student’s degree advisor that includes a statement articulating the impact of the nominated dissertation and its contribution to the field of journalism studies. All materials must be submitted as PDF files.

The nomination period closes March 1, 2020. Please send PDF nomination materials via email to the chair of the selection committee, David Domingo (



This award honors a book published in the previous five calendar years (between January 1 and December 31). The selection committee judges each nominated book on several criteria:

1)  the importance of the problem it addresses to the journalism studies division;

2)  the relevance of the topic to the field of communication as a whole;

3)  the quality of writing and argument;

4)  the strength of evidence it presents.

The committee will consider all nominated books, available book reviews, reputation of the publisher, and any other submitted evidence regarding the book's quality from independent sources, along with nominating letters and its own assessment of the nominated books. Authors must be current members of ICA and the Journalism Studies Division. Nominations from any country are encouraged. Most award-winning books address a scholarly audience, but books aimed at a general readership while satisfying the criteria for the prize are also eligible. Single and multiple authored books as well as research-based books resulting from an ongoing scholarly collaboration can be considered. Textbooks, handbooks and edited collections are not eligible, and books may be nominated only once. Because of a lack of resources for outside translators at this time, we regret that only English-language books or books translated to English can be currently considered. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Each nomination should include: 1) a nomination letter. Nominating letters must specify why the book should receive the award, assess the importance of the book to both the Journalism Studies Division and to ICA, and demonstrate the quality of its writing, argument and evidence; 2) copies of all available evidence of the book's quality from independent sources, such as reviews; 3) CV of the author(s). 

The nomination period closes March 1, 2020. Please send a PDF with all the nomination materials to the chair of the award committee, Barbie Zelizer,

In addition, arrangements should be made with the publishers of nominated books for four copies to be shipped to award committee members by the same deadline (for the addresses of the committee members, please contact Barbie Zelizer).



The Journalism Studies Division of the International Communication Association (ICA) announces its 2020 Wolfgang Donsbach Outstanding Journal Article of the Year Award. The award competition is open to authors whose articles have appeared in peer-reviewed journals in the year 2019.

To qualify for the award, articles must have been published in English language peer-reviewed journals and have made a substantial contribution to our understanding of the ever-changing role of journalism in societies. Articles must be nominated by a third person. The Award Committee does not accept self-nominations. The Committee particularly encourages journal editors to nominate articles that they deem outstanding. At least one author must be a current member of ICA and the Journalism Studies Division. Nominated articles must have been published in English language in peer-reviewed journals. If the journal is not listed in ISI, evidence of the peer-review system must be supplied by the nominator.

The nominated article must have been published in a 2019 issue of the peer-reviewed journal. Final electronic versions of accepted articles that are produced by the publisher will be accepted only in cases where the last issue of the year has not yet been printed or delivered. Articles published ahead of print are not eligible. The nominator must supply a pdf version of the published article and an explanation, no more than 250 words, of why the article deserves the Award. The deadline for nominations is March1, 2020. Submissions should be sent to the Award Committee Chair, Matt Carlson,



The ICA Journalism Studies Public Engagement Award recognizes a member of the Journalism Studies division who has successfully engaged with publics and organizations outside of academia, in ways that have contributed to the impact of academic scholarship and to journalistic practice. Contributions include communicating research findings to journalists and other publics, working with news organizations and publics in multiple capacities, and addressing real world problems related to journalistic performance. To qualify for the award, scholars must have documented efforts in one or more of the three public engagement areas below:

-INFORMING the public about research and making it more accessible

-INFLUENCING policy or professional audiences and their work

-INVOLVING the public directly in research projects, partnerships, events, and engaged learning approaches

Evidence of such public engagement could and is not limited to local and international outreach and visibility and/or thought leadership as a commentator/expert source. Other indicators could include contributions to policy debates affecting journalism or superior efforts at convening non-academic publics (e.g. bridging divides between audiences and researchers or researchers and industry). Self-nominations and nominations by peers in the Journalism Studies division are welcome.


-A one-page single spaced cover letter outlining contributions.

-Supporting documentation in list form of no more than one-page single spaced (including hyperlinked, to supporting non-academic publications, conference sites, policy pdfs or briefings, press mentions, or the like).

-Two letters of recommendation: one letter must be from someone outside the academy and the other letter must be from someone within academia.

The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2020. Nominations should be sent to the Award Committee Chair, Silvio Waisbord,