Grants and Awards
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

Grants & Awards

Frederic M. Jablin Award

We are seeking nominations for this year’s Fredric M. Jablin Award for Outstanding Contributions to Organizational Communication, given annually by the ICA Organizational Communication Division. The awardee will be chosen by a committee of four division members chaired by the immediate past chair of the division and presented at this year’s annual division meeting at the ICA conference. Any person who has made outstanding contributions to our field over the years is eligible for nomination (except for previous winners and this year’s selection committee, which are listed below). Nominations (including self-nominations) should include a CV and a 1-page maximum letter/statement of the nominee’s key qualifications making them deserving of this award. Please submit only these two items as a single PDF document emailed to committee chair Bart van den Hooff.

Thanks for taking the time to help us honor one of our colleagues with this prestigious award.

Linda L. Putnam Early Career Scholar Award

The ICA Organizational Communication Division is seeking nominations for the Linda L. Putnam Early Career Scholar Award. This award recognizes the contributions of an early career scholar to organizational communication research.
Specifically, this award honors a scholar no more than six years past receipt of the doctoral degree for a body of work that has made a significant contribution to the field of organizational communication and shows promise for continued development. The selection committee judges the contributions and promise of an early career scholar based on the strength of her or his published work, including, but not limited to, its conceptual foundation, argumentative clarity, and rigor; its influence on the field (e.g., as judged by positive citations); the scholar’s productivity at a given career stage; and the promise of existing work serving as a springboard for continuing organizational communication scholarship.
Please submit the nominations and address any questions to Rahul Mitra.

W. Charles Redding Dissertation Award

The Organizational Communication Division (Division 4) of the International Communication Association (ICA) is pleased to announce the competition for the 2020 W. Charles Redding Dissertation Award. The submission deadline is Friday, February 28, 2020. 

This annual competition includes a cash award for the winner and a certificate for the winner and his/her advisor. The award will be presented at the annual ICA convention in Gold Coast, Australia. Any dissertation project related to organizational communication is eligible for submission. The winning dissertation will be theoretically driven, methodologically rigorous, and make a significant contribution to our field. In the spirit of W. Charles Redding, the dissertation should present ideas that advance our understanding of organizing and communicating, and that make a difference in the lives of organizational members.

Rules of the competition:

1. The advisor or chief supervisor of the dissertation should submit the dissertation to the committee chair. Documents to be submitted must include: (a) one copy of the complete dissertation and (b) one copy of the student summary document, which is a 25-30 page paper (text) plus references, tables, graphs, etc. Summary documents with more than 30 double-spaced pages of text (12 pt. Times New Roman or equivalent font with 1-inch margins) will not be considered.

2. The shorter document, written by the student, should summarize the dissertation by discussing the (a) research issue/problem, (b) relevant literature, (c) key hypotheses and/or research questions, (d) research methods, (e) primary results, and (f) conclusions drawn from the investigation. There is no need for a letter of nomination from the advisor, and letters will not be forwarded to the awards committee.

3. Because all dissertations will receive blind review by a panel of judges, the name of the author, advisor, and university should appear only in the email and title page of the full dissertation. The awards committee will not be able to consider inappropriately anonymized summaries.

4. Dissertations must have been successfully defended in the 2019 calendar year.

5. Candidates for the award must be ICA Division 4 members, but membership may be in process at the time of submission.

6. If an insufficient number of dissertations are received, the award panel reserves the right to carry over dissertations into the next annual competition. In case of a large numbers of submissions or strong competition, a Runner-Up Award may also be made.

7. Submission deadline: Friday, February 28, 2020. All materials must be received by midnight U.S. Eastern Standard Time on that date. It is the responsibility of the advisor to ensure that the committee chair has properly received all submission materials. Please submit all materials electronically in either Word or PDF format. If the files are large, please make arrangements with the chair to send the files via a filesharing website like Dropbox.

Please email entries to committee chair 
Joëlle Cruz with the following subject heading: REDDINGDISSERTATION AWARD SUBMISSION. Please do not hesitate to email Joëlle at if you have any additional questions.