Bob Heath Top Paper Award
Group HomeGroup HomeGroup PagesDirectory & Features
Share |

Bob Heath Top Paper Award

In 2003, the PR Division established the Heath Top Paper Award, in honor of the scholarly achievements of Professor Robert Heath from the University of Houston, USA. Dr. Heath's 20-year record, achieving ten top paper rankings, spanned the history of the PR Division. No other scholar has achieved this level of accomplishment or recognition.
Heath's sustained quality of refereed papers covered such topics as issues management, public policy, environmental health risks, constituency building, citizen risk concerns and risk communication generally, PR management of organizational crises, and an analysis of communication infrastructure. Each year, the winner of the Heath Top Paper Award is selected by division reviewers from a short list of outstanding papers.
Two past PR Division chairs, Bonita D. Neff (Valparaiso University-Indiana, USA) and Dean Kruckeberg (University of Northern Iowa, USA), coordinated the process of establishing the Heath Top Paper Award, after John Madsen (Buena Vista University-Iowa, USA) nominated Heath for the award-naming honor.
The first Heath Top Paper Award was made in 2004, in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the founding of the PR Division within ICA.

2016 Award Winners

The Robert L Heath Top Faculty Paper Award winners for 2016 are:

First place and Top Faculty Paper:

Effects of Self-Affirmation on Publics’ Perception of Crisis. Xiaochen Zhang, Kansas State University

Second place:

Rethinking Employee-Organization Relationship (EOR) Management: Integrating Authentic Leadership, Transparent Organizational Communication, and Work-Life Enrichment. Hua Jiang, Syracuse University, and Yi Luo, Montclair State University.

Third place:

Multi-stakeholder Network and Stakeholder Relationship Management: Reconsidering Power in Public Relations Relationships. Adam Saffer, University of North Carolina; Aimei Yang, University of Southern California; Maureen Taylor, University of Tennessee.

Past Award Winners of Bob Heath Top Paper Award

2015: Corne Dijkmans, NHTV Breda University of Applied Sciences; Peter Kerkhof, Asuman Buyukcan-Tetik, and Camiel Beukeboom, VU University Amsterdam, NL

AND joint winner, Kerstin Thummes; University of Muenster, DE

2014: Hyejoon Rim, University of Minnesota, USA

2013: Magda Pieczka and Emma Wood, Queen Margaret University, UK

2012: Ganga Sasidharan Dhanesh, National University of Singapore, SIN.

2011: Tomasz Feduik, Kristin Pace, and Isabel Botero from Illinois State University, USA

2009: Tomasz Feduik, Kristin Pace, and Isabel Botero, Illinois State University, USA

2008: Magda Pieczka, Queen Margaret University,UK

2007: Shannon Bowen, University of Maryland, USA

2006: Yi-Ru Regina Chen, University of Macau, China

2005: Bruce Berger, University of Alabama, & William Heyman, Heyman Associates, USA

2004: Betteke van Ruler, University of Amsterdam,NL