ICA Fellows Book Award


Power without responsibility

James Curran and Jean Seaton

Press, broadcasting and the internet in Britain (8th ed.). Routledge

Order from Publisher



Speaking Into the Air: A History of the Idea of Communication 

John Durham Peters

U of Chicago Press, 1999

Order from Publisher



 Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide

by Henry Jenkins

New York University Press, 2006

Order from Publisher



Discovering the News: A Social History of American Newspapers

by Michael Schudson

New York: Basic Books, 1978


Order from Publisher


Make Room for TV

by Lynn Spigel

University of Chicago Press, 1992

Order from Publisher



No Sense of Place: The Impact of Electronic Media on Social Behavior

by Joshua Meyrowitz

Oxford University Press, 1986

Order from Publisher



The Emergent Organization: Communication as Its Site and Surface

by James R. Taylor & Elizabeth J. Van Every

Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 1999

Order from Publisher


Reading the Romance: Women, Patriarchy, and Popular Literature

by Janice Radway

U of North Carolina Press, 1991

Order from Publisher



When Old Technologies Were New: Thinking About Electric Communication in the Late Nineteenth Century

by Carolyn Marvin

Oxford U Press, 1988

Order from Publisher



Media Events: The Live Broadcasting of History

by Daniel Dayan and Elihu Katz

Harvard U Press, 1992

Order from Publisher



Spiral of Cynicism: The Press and the Public Good

by Joseph N. Capella and Kathleen Hall Jamieson

Oxford U Press, 1997

Order from Publisher



Rich Media, Poor Democracy

by Robert W. McChesney

U of Illinois Press, 1999

Order from Publisher



The Control Revolution: Technological and Economic Origina of American Society

by James R. Beniger

Harvard U Press, 1986

Order from Publisher



Content Analysis: An Introduction to Its Methodology, 2nd edition

by Klaus Krippendorff

Sage, 2004

Order from Publisher



Language and Social Knowledge: Uncertainty in Interpersonal Relations

by Charles Berger and James Bradac

Hodder Arnold, 1982

Order from Publisher