Board of Directors
Share |

The Board of Directors is comprised of the Executive Committee (EC), Division/Interest Group Chairpersons, three Board Members-at-Large, and two Board Student and Early Career Representatives.

The EC is a subcommittee of the Board of Directors consisting of the President, President-Elect, President-Elect-Select*, Immediate Past President, Past President, Past President from the prior year (acting as General Secretary), Treasurer, and Executive Director. The Executive Director serves as a nonvoting member of the Executive Committee; all others are voting. 

If you wish to contact a member of the ICA Board of Directors, please use Member Search to find contact information. The member search resource is available to ICA members (you must be signed into your account to access the search results). 

If you are a member of the Board of Directors, visit this link to see the group page.  To update your affiliation listed on this page, please contact Julie Arnold

The ICA governance year begins/ends on the last day of ICA's annual conference; term lengths vary by position. 

2020 - 2021 ICA Board of Directors: 

Claes De Vreese
U of Amsterdam

Mary Beth Oliver
Pennsylvania State U

Noshir Contractor
Northwestern U

Immediate Past President
Terry Flew
Queensland U of Technology

Past President
Patricia Moy
U of Washington

General Secretary
Paula Gardner
McMaster U

Peter Monge
U of Southern California

Executive Director (ex-officio)
Laura Sawyer
International Communication Association

Treasurer-Elect (2021-2022)
Elisia Cohen
U of Minnesota

Board Member at Large
John Erni
Hong Kong Baptist U 

Board Member at Large
Maria Len-Rios
The U of Georgia

Board Member at Large
Hernando Rojas
U of Wisconsin

Board Student & Early Career Representative
Myrene Magabo
U of the Philippines Open University

Board Student & Early Career Representative
Lara Schreurs
KU Leuven

Activism, Communication and Social Justice Interest Group Chair
Anne Kaun
Sodertorn U 
Children, Adolescents & Media Division Chair
Nancy Jennings
U of Cincinnati

Communication & Technology Division Chair
Ran Wei
Chinese U of Hong Kong

Communication History Division Chair
Derek Vaillant
U of Michigan

Communication Law & Policy Division Chair
Jasmine McNealy
U of Florida

Communication Science and Biology Interest Group Chair
Allison Eden
Michigan State U

Computational Methods Interest Group Chair
Cuihua Shen
U of California, Davis

Environmental Communication Division Chair
Jonathon P. Schuldt
Cornell U

Ethnicity & Race in Communication Division Chair
Sudeshna Roy
Stephen F. Austin State U

Feminist Scholarship Division Chair
Ingrid Bachmann
Pontificia U Catolica de Chile 

Game Studies Division Chair
Rabindra Ratan
Michigan State U

Global Communication and Social Change Division Chair
Radhika Gajjala
Bowling Green State U

Health Communication Division Chair
Itzhak Yanovitzky
Rutgers U

Human-Machine Communication Interest Group Chair
Andrea Guzman
Northern Illinois U

Information Systems Division Chair
Narine Yegiyan
U of California, Davis

Instructional and Developmental Communication Division Chair
Davide Girardelli
Free U of Bozen

Intercultural Communication Division Chair
Soumia Bardhan
U of Colorado - Denver

Intergroup Communication Interest Group Chair
Jessica Gasiorek
U of Hawaii - Manoa

Interpersonal Communication Division Chair
Amanda Holmstrom
Michigan State U

Journalism Studies Division Chair
Seth Lewis
U of Oregon

Language & Social Interaction Division Chair
David Boromisza-Habashi
U of Colorado - Boulder

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Interest Group Co-Chair
Shinsuke Eguchi
U of New Mexico

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Interest Group Co-Chair
Lukasz Szulc
U of Sheffield

Mass Communication Division Chair
Jonathan Cohen
U of Haifa 

Media Industry Studies Interest Group Chair
Ramon Lobato

Mobile Communication Interest Group Chair
Rich Ling
Nanyang Technological U

Organizational Communication Division Chair
Timothy Kuhn
U of Colorado

Philosophy, Theory and Critique Division Chair
Jayson Harsin
The American U of Paris

Political Communication Division Chair
Sophie Lecheler
U of Vienna

Popular Communication Division Chair
Melissa Aronczyk
Rutgers U

Public Diplomacy Interest Group Chair
Alina Dolea
Bournemouth U

Public Relations Division Chair
Flora Hung-Baesecke
Massey U

Sports Communication Interest Group Chair
Michael Devlin
Texas State U

Visual Communication Studies Division Chair
Jelle Mast
Vrije U Brussel